The Tongan Group commenced broadcasting at Radio 4EB from 27 April 1981 and the first committee members were:

Convenor & Treasurer ~ Mele Horner

Secretary ~ Pilimilose Mafi

Vice-convenor ~ Tualau Mangisi

Assistant Treasurer ~ Tualau Mangisi

Other Committee Members: Heu-I-Fanga Tupou, Mele Pollnow, Iunisi Lane and Sefana Talifolau

Located in Oceania, Tonga is an archipelago in the South Pacific Ocean, directly south of Western Samoa and about two-thirds of the way from Hawaii to New Zealand. Its 176 islands, 36 of them inhabited, are divided into three main groups – Vava’u, Ha’apai, and Tongatapu – and cover an 800-kilometre (500-mile)-long north-south line. The largest island, Tongatapu, on which the capital city of Nuku alofa is located, covers 257 square kilometres (99 sq mi). Geologically the Tongan islands are of two types: most have a limestone base formed from uplifted coral formations; others consist of limestone overlaying a volcanic base.

Program Main Hosts (Rotational)

Pelu Veikoso, Limapo Hopoate, Richard Niu, Sulieni Layt, Silia Laukau, Leonie Tu’itahi, and William Mahanga

Regular Program Co-Hosts

First Monday Salesi Moala – EducationFirst Friday Limapo Hopoate – Our Culture
Second Monday Dr. Pule Kaitu’u – HealthSecond Friday Supiesi Fisi’ihoi – For Women
Third Monday Mosese Faleafa – FinanceThird Friday Limapo Hopoate – Community Groups
Fourth Monday Falepaini Maile – Pacific Seasonal WorkersFourth Friday Rev. Tonga Matenoa – Tongan Churches