The Maltese Group started broadcasting at Radio 4EB from 1 December 1979 and the first committee members were

Convenor ~ Reno Galea

Secretary ~ Rita Galea

Treasurer ~ Laurie Gauci

Vice-convenor ~ Noel Falzon

Malta is an Archipelago located 90 km south of Sicily and 290 km from the Northern coast of Tunisia, Africa.  It consists of five islands: Malta, Gozo, Comino, Cominotto, and Filfla.  Its population is approximately 400,000.  The spoken languages are  Maltese, English, and Italian.  Its total area is 320 km.  The main Island is 27 km long and 14 km wide. The indentations around the coastline form bays, sandy beaches, rocky coves and most importantly deep natural harbours.