The Czech Group started broadcasting at Radio 4EB as the Czechoslovakian Group from 1 December 1979 and from 19 August 2001 the first committee members for the Czech Group were:

  • Convener – Karel Ulvr
  • Secretary – Stanislava Bilek
  • Treasurer – Karel Bilek
  • Vice-convenor – Ludmila Bartunek
  • Assistant Treasurer – Vladimir Jarousek
  • Assistant Secretary – Miloslav Hajek

The Czech landscape is quite varied. Bohemia, to the west, consists of a river basin, drained by the Elbe (Czech: Labe) and Vltava rivers. It is surrounded by mostly low mountains such as the Sudetes with its part Krkonoše, containing the highest point in the country, the Sněžka at 1,602 metres (5,256 ft). Moravia, the eastern part, is also quite hilly and is drained predominantly by the Morava river, but also contains the source of the Oder (Czech: Odra) river. Water from the landlocked Czech Republic flows to three different seas: the North Sea, Baltic Sea and Black Sea.

The Czech Republic also possesses Moldauhafen, a 30,000-square-metre (7.4-acre) enclave in the middle of Hamburg docks, which was awarded to Czechoslovakia by Article 363 of the Treaty of Versailles to allow the landlocked country a place where goods transported downriver could be transferred to seagoing ships; this territory reverts to Germany in 2028.